LONDON SPARROW

I’m flying about with my wings
Doing extraordinary things.
I sleep in the trees.
I ride on the breeze.
When I open my beak,
It sings!

I peck on the rain slushy ground.
My bright eyes can see all who pass.
With a song and a flutter
I twirl from the gutter
On to a side verge of grass.

Newspapers, beer cans and grot
Sideline the pavements and rot,
So I fly in the air
And pretend I don’t care.
I’m glad I can’t be what I’m not.

I can’t be a dog or a cat.
Well I’m very pleased about that!
They may be stronger,
But their journeys take longer
And some of them live in a flat!

At dawn when the crimson sun rests,
She glimmers a light on my breast.
A sea gull and I dive into
the sky
Now don’t ask me why.
Perhaps it’s because we are blessed.

Yes I’m flying about with my wings
Doing extraordinary things.
I sleep in the trees.
I ride on the breeze.
When I open my beak,
It sings!

Leave a Reply

