A NIGHT AT THE BALLET

We went to the ballet one evening,
My husband, my sister and I.
The curtain rose on a woodland scene.
Golden in sunlight, a fairy queen
Danced in sequins and net
To the sound of music
I’ll never forget.
Programmes rustled, people coughed.
We gazed enraptured as we sat aloft
Looking intently at the stage
As the fairy king danced on in a rage.
In gold and purple
He leapt and turned.
We clapped so hard our fingers burned.
The Queen fell in a faint of
Silvery net!
To the sound of music, I’ll
Never forget!

Leave a Reply

