THE GREATEST GIFT

If I gave you a flower
Would you press it
Keep the petals until they dried?
If you love me
Would you confess it
And let me stay at your side?
If I gave you a star
From the deep night
That shone in the milky way,
Would you feel some of
the delight
Your presence gives me today?

If the sun rose for us only
Could we share a future my love?
Say you won’t leave me lonely
And I will give you a dove.
There would be a point
to existing
As the clouds roll endlessly on.
With our love affair persisting
Long after these gifts have gone.

Leave a Reply

