THE COAL MINER’S SON

Dad had to march for his job.
We came to London today.
We joined the march at the start
And heard the Colliery band play.

Huge banners, slogans and such.
The rain crashed down on my head.
At times it seemed a bit much,
But I thought of our cause instead.

I held my banner up high.
Then brilliant lightening flared.
People cheered as we went by.
I was surprised so many cared.

Yes we all got soaking wet.
The crowd called out “Well done!”
I kept my features set,
For I’m a coal miner’s son!

Leave a Reply

