SEPARATION

We climb a mountain,
Legs torn by brambles.
The sister I love
Struggles behind me.
Briars and thorns.
A dark sky above.
The wind howling blindly.

Holding the bushes,
Slowly ascending.
She loses her footing
Is gone!
My voice calls her name
It echoes unending
On and on……..

Alone now, I weep.
Frozen limbs, stillness.
The hostile mountain.
Rocks below.
I wake up relieved
As from an illness.
The dream stays.
It won’t go.

A dream telling of
Our long separation.
It was untrue though
We are estranged.
But I accept
There is no reparation.
It’s the way some fates
Are arranged.

Leave a Reply

