A QUESTIONABLE AFFAIR

Marie,
Your husband’s mistress
Is my best friend.
I can’t tell you for I depend
On the wages you pay.
I don’t wish to leave.
I watch what I say.
I don’t want to deceive
But I do anyway.

Marie,
The affair’s been going on
For years.
It seems likely to end in tears.
If you find out I hope
It will reach its end,
That you will cope,
Your broken trust will mend,
But it’s a rocky slope to descend.

Marie,
I hope you won’t realise
That I knew.
But to my friend Lola, I must
Be true.
He smiles when he looks at me.
I don’t like being part
Of their conspiracy.
Especially as you haven’t a clue,
Marie,
Have you?

Leave a Reply

