SEVENTEEN

When I was seventeen,
I worked on a Capstan machine
Making screws for a small firm.
Watching the metal shaved,
It was the first time I got money saved
When I was seventeen.

We stood on a stone floor.
Oil gushed on to our
Arms and clothes and more.
Brown oil, we couldn’t wash out.
It was something to write home about.
I was so keen
When I was seventeen.

I loved the job.
The Foreman thought I was
A snob.
I kept breaking the tools.
I felt all kind of fools
When I asked for a repair.
The Foreman began to swear
So I walked out!
With my future in doubt.

I was quite mean…..
When I was seventeen!

Leave a Reply

