A CRY OF SHAME

I watch leaves dance in tune
with the breeze
beneath a gentle London sky.
I’ve just heard of refugees
And fear that many more will die.
I watch lamps shine brightly
in the street.
The radio continues its grim news:
People have walked for days in burning heat.
Prayers rise from Church of England pews.

I see on a computer screen,
migrants sprayed and driven hence.
I wonder at this barbaric scene:
Dogs? Bullets? And yet another fence?
A vision of some leaders shaking hands.
On what deal are they agreeing?
To shovel people back to their own lands
to face the war zones they are fleeing!

I switch my lights off and settle in
clean sheets.
Why did God give me a life of ease?
I feel millions of broken heart beats
And hear the migrants calling,
“ Help us please!”
In Britain, politicians reply:
Not yet, or wait, who can we blame?
Meanwhile, how many more will die?
While leaders seem deaf to our cry of shame!

One thought on “A CRY OF SHAME

Leave a Reply

